< Back to News

A&P Travel win the UKCOA Martin Cornell Trophy at the UK Coach Rally

The UK Coach Rally, organised by Coach Displays Ltd, took place in a sunny Blackpool on 1 and 2 April. UKCOA MD, Peter Bradley, was in attendance as a judge, judging on appearance, accessibility and comfort.

There was a smaller field of entries than usual, just 31 entrants, caused by heavy demand for hires; which at least is some welcome news after the pandemic. Nonetheless there was a good turnout for the rally and a lively atmosphere.

The UKCOA Winners’ List

Trophies and Awards
Coach of the Year: A&P Travel, Van Hool TX16 Acron
Coach Driver of the Year: Daryl Dixon, Bibby’s of Ingleton
Mini Driver of the Year: David Hamilton, Heathside Travel
West Middlesex Coach Operators Association Trophy – runner up to Coach Driver of the Year: Chris Bibby, Bibby’s of Ingleton

Concours d’Elegance
Top Mini/Midi: Heathside Travel, Mercedes-Benz Sprinter EVM Grand Tourer
Top Touring/Express Luxury Coach: A&P Travel, Van Hool TX16 Acron
John Fielder Memorial Trophy – top coach from a small fleet of up to five vehicles: A&P Travel, Van Hool TX16 Acron.

Special Awards
Peter Rogers Shield – top CPT member: A&P Travel, Van Hool TX16 Acron
Cymru Trophy – top coach from Wales: Williams Coaches, Neoplan Tourliner P22
UKCOA Martin Cornell Trophy – highest placed UKCOA member: A&P Travel
Maurice Wrightson Memorial Shield – oldest employed participant: David Hamilton, Heathside Travel
Bernie Porton Memorial Trophy – coach of the year as voted for by coach drivers: Brethertons Gold Line ToursVolvo 9900

Concours d’elegance
Irizar Trophy: Blakes Coaches, Irizar i6S integral
Neoplan Trophy: Stanley Travel, Neoplan Starliner
Plaxton Trophy: Coopers Tours,  Volvo B11R Plaxton Panther
Volvo Trophy: Brethertons Gold Line Tours, Volvo 9900.